Recipe: Avocado Berry Smoothie [Vegan]

2-24-14 179

People are always telling me how much they love avocados. I suppose it’s because I’m a foodie, but self proclaimed avocado fanatics tend to bring it up in conversation more than I’d expect.

But in my book, you aren’t a true avocado fanatic until you’ve embraced the avocado smoothie. Or the mousse. Or any other delectable sweet avocado concoction that, when mentioned, elicits a look of disgust from the aforementioned “avocado fanatics.” It’s as if non-savory avocado dishes are some kind of taboo; but come on people, they’re fruits!

My family, who are pretty neutral on the avocado-loving spectrum, thought I was crazy when I mentioned that avocado smoothies should be a thing. After two minutes searching for recipes, I found that it was indeed a thing, and decided to make my own: basically just avocado and milk (with some flavorings of course). And my family actually ended up liking it.

This recipe is a slightly more complex version of my original avocado smoothie (which I might also be sharing if people want it), and is pretty much a healthy-skin cocktail: it’s chock full of healthy fats and antioxidants. I’d imagine it’d also be a great pre-workout snack because of the combination of available carbs and fats!

2-24-14 221

Makes one smoothie.

Ingredients

The amounts are estimates, so play around with the ratios until you get your favorite combos!

  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1/2 cup frozen mixed berries (or fresh berries + 3 ice cubes)
  • 1/2 banana, pre-sliced and frozen
  • 1-3 tbs protein powder (optional)
  • 1 tbs acai powder (optional, but delicious)
  • 1/4 cup soy yogurt
  • 1/3 cup non-dairy milk (or more to your desired consistency)
  • Dash vanilla
  • ~1 tsp lemon (or lime juice). If you have a bitter avocado, add more to taste
  • Agave nectar if desired
  • Handful of kale, oats, or other add-ins

2-24-14 176

Directions

Combine all ingredients in blender, and blend until smooth, without chunks of frozen fruit or ice. Play with the amounts to find  your favorite ratios!

2-24-14 1682-24-14 163

3 thoughts on “Recipe: Avocado Berry Smoothie [Vegan]

    • You definitely should–let me know how you like it!

      And awh, thanks so much! 🙂 In terms of nominating others, how can you tell when other bloggers have less than 500 followers? (I’m still a newbie when it comes to parts of wordpress that aren’t just blogging, haha)

      • When I go through my wordpress reader to see the new posts, I click on that particular blog and in the right corner I see how many followers they have. I did however select one that had more than 500 followers, because I love their content. Give it a go, I had a blast answering the questions and I found some more blogs to check out regularly like yours 😀

Leave a comment