Vegan Pumpkin Pie Quinoa Porridge [Low Cal]

5-14-14 013

I have trouble letting go of winter and autumn foods by the time spring rolls around. Something about pumpkin spice, warm apple pies, winter squashes and brussels sprouts, and steaming soups and porridges just makes me want to eat them regardless of how hot it is outside.

When I cook for other people, though, I have to at least try to be season-appropriate–and when I’m home for the summer, I’m a bit addicted to cooking for my friends and family. So, I decided to give myself a last winter hurrah before I moved back home, and treated myself to this pumpkin pie porridge before one of my last finals.

I may continue to have this dish on those slightly-less-hot summer days simply because of how how delicious it is… and I’ll have to come up with an apple pie version, too!

Serves 1 (about 1.5 cups)

5-14-14 025

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup dry quinoa
  • 1 cup soymilk
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon (add more to taste)
  • Dash of cloves, nutmeg, and ginger, or of premade pumpkin spice
  • Maple syrup or sweetener to taste
  • Toppings: cocoa nibs, chocolate chips, cranberries, walnuts, etc.

Directions

1. In a pan over medium heat, combine soymilk, pumpkin puree, and quinoa. Bring to a boil, and simmer for about 10-15 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the quinoa are split and soft and the mixture has thickened to an oatmeal-like texture.

2. Remove pan from heat, and add in the spices and sweetener. You may want to add another splash of milk if you like a less thick consistency.

3. Add toppings if desired, and serve hot!

Calories: 300 (using a 0 calorie sweetener and unsweetened soymilk)

5-14-14 0355-14-14 009

One thought on “Vegan Pumpkin Pie Quinoa Porridge [Low Cal]

Leave a Reply

