Recipe: Vegan Avocado Mac n Cheese

9-6-13 067

I’ve been trying hard to stick to my 90% vegan plan, which means I’ll only eat animal products in a social setting: in restaurants where they’re hard to avoid, and when I bake/cook for other people (which is going to change once I get some more vegan recipes under my belt!). So, when I cook for myself, I satisfy all my cheesy cravings with cow-friendly alternatives.

One day, I had an intense desire for mac n cheese. After spending my week eating mostly vegetables, tofu, and beans–despite how delicious they are–I was in the mood for some serious creamy goodness. I also have a bit of an avocado addiction, so of course I had to incorporate them.

What resulted was better than most mac n cheese I’ve been served throughout the years. It was creamy, gluten-free, and featured some good fats as opposed to just cheese. And, best of all, no animal products to feel guilty about!

Veganized from this recipe.

Serves 4-6.

Ingredients:

  • 10 ounces dry elbow macaroni (I used gluten free, and I couldn’t tell the difference!)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 avocados, peeled and pitted
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
  • 1/3 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 2 tablespoons vegan margarine
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup soymilk
  • 2 cups shredded Daiya Pepper Jack cheese
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • Fresh avocado chunks, for garnish, if desired
  • Add-in options: I used some roasted broccoli florets for a crunch, but I’d imagine that cherry tomato halves, corn, bell peppers, or other vegetables would also taste good in it!

9-6-13 055

Directions:

1. Cook your macaroni according to the instructions on the package; it differs by type.

2. While the pasta is cooking, make the avocado sauce by placing the garlic, avocados, lime juice, cilantro, salt and pepper into a food processor or blender. Blend until the sauce is smooth and creamy; add more liquid if it looks too thick to pour.

3. To make the cheese sauce, place margarine in a small saucepan and heat over medium heat. Once it’s melted, whisk in flour to create a paste. Whisk in milk until smooth. Stir with a wooden spoon until the sauce starts to thicken. Add in Pepper Jack cheese and stir until cheese is melted and sauce is creamy.

4. Place macaroni in a large bowl. Pour the avocado sauce Β and cheese sauce over the macaroni, and stir until evenly coated. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Serve warm. Garnish with fresh avocado chunks, if desired.

And, it keeps well for a few days! (The lime juice helps keep it looking and tasting fresh.)

9-6-13 070

Enjoy!

Michelle

9 thoughts on “Recipe: Vegan Avocado Mac n Cheese

  1. I am also on the 90% vegan lifestyle (or trying to be!). My only thing is that I live in a sorority house where someone else cooks for me. So while I avoid anything with cheese or eggs, I can only assume that she uses butter from time to time. I know I cannot get bent out about that kind of stuff, but I am happy with the changes so far! I absolutely love vegan baking and have a few recipes on my blog πŸ™‚

    • Sorry for the late reply–my replies never seem to go through the first time!

      I know how you feel! Being vegan while eating food made by non-vegan cooks is nearly impossible. Whenever I’m at home and other family members do the cooking, I just force myself to be flexible and eat what they serve me… though it’s especially hard when it’s omelets and whatnot.

      Ooh, I’ll have to check them out! πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Recipe: Vegan Caprese Mac n Cheese | Churros 'n' Chai

    • Aw, thank you so much for the kind words–I’m so glad you like my little blog!

      And I was in your place just a little while ago; the switch to full veganism may seem daunting at first, but after just a few months it seems totally natural! I can’t imagine eating any other way, now. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

