Recipe: Kiffens

5-26-13 071

For as long as I can remember, my aunt/godmother has been baking a butter cookie she has dubbed “Kiffens,” but that my friends swear are actually called Mexican or Italian wedding cookies. Whatever their true identity, she’s been sending them to the whole family for years around Christmas, and we always look forward to the tiny, spherical sugar coated delights each holiday season. I decided to try them myself when I first began baking, and although I can’t make them quite like she can, my friends are always begging for them!

So, I thought I’d share this simple but delicious family recipe with you guys: they pair wonderfully with tea, coffee, and hot chocolate alike.

5-26-13 1095-26-13 132

Makes 30-40 small cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) salted butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • Powdered sugar

5-26-13 008

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees Fahrenheit.

2. Soften the butter, then cream it together with the sugar and vanilla.

3. Mix flour and salt together in a separate bowl, then add it to the butter-sugar mixture. Mix only until combined; over mixing could make them tough!

4. Shape the dough into small balls–about 1 inch diameter–and line them up on a cookie sheet.

5-26-13 0385-26-13 043

5. Bake for 10-15 minutes, until just barely light golden on the bottom.

6. Allow to cool for 5-10 minutes, then roll in powdered sugar.

Let cool, and enjoy!

5-26-13 073 5-26-13 105

Thanks for reading!

Michelle

Leave a Reply

