Recipe: Baked Gingerbread Donuts [Vegan]

1-23-14 178

Prepare yourselves, everyone. The vegan baked vanilla doughnuts are about to get fancier.

Back when I posted the original recipe, I said I’d post with more flavors. People seemed excited about it, so I decided it (hopefully) wouldn’t be too repetitive for you guys. Here’s the first one: the gingerbread variety, probably my favorite of the bunch! I don’t care if it’s summer right now–the taste of fall is always welcome. Something about gingerbread flavors are always so comforting to me. These are one of my best selling pastries, so I guess I’m not the only one who feels that way!

Also, I can’t seem to decide which form of the word doughnuts (versus donuts) to use; guess I’ll keep mixing it up, because why not?

1-23-14 142

Ingredients

  • 2 cups flour
  • 3/4 cups vegan white sugar
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 – 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp ginger
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp cloves
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil (can sub in applesauce)
  • 3/4 tbsp apple cider vinegar (can sub white vinegar)
  • 3/4 tsp vanilla
  • 3/4 cup water
  • Maple syrup + powdered sugar for glaze

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease two 6-hole doughnut pans.

2. Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a bowl.

3. In another small bowl, stir together the oil, vinegar, vanilla, and water.

4. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients, and pour in the wet. Mix just until lumps are gone.

5. Pour batter into doughnut cups until about 2/3-3/4 full.

6. Bake at 350 for 8-12 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

1-23-14 1261-23-14 109

One thought on “Recipe: Baked Gingerbread Donuts [Vegan]

Leave a Reply

