Recipe: Baked Vegan Vanilla Doughnuts

2-24-14 061

People always look at me like I’m a wizard whenever they hear I make doughnuts. They tend to respond as if they’re some rare species of baked good that only Krispy Kreme holds the sacred knowledge to. But those of us who’ve made them know how simple they really are.

A few weeks ago, I brought a batch of chocolate peppermint ones (they tasted like thin mints!) to a vegan bakesale hosted at a local grocery store, which also happens to be one of my favorite stores in town. When they saw that I’d made doughnuts and I mentioned that I’m currently doing freelance catering, they offered me a job baking for the store. Now, three times a week, I deliver batches of vegan gingerbread doughnuts, chocolate doughnuts, pumpkin muffins, and brownies to them. Thanks to the aforementioned awe that doughnuts seem to elicit from people, I was able to get more routine baking work (compared to my more chaotic catering) that fits perfectly into my busy student’s schedule!

I hope these doughnuts will bring you as much luck as they’ve brought me. The recipe only took a few rounds of testing to come up with, and the best part is that it’s a simple vanilla base, that you can add just about¬†anything¬†to. I’ll be sharing my recipes for peppermint, chocolate, and gingerbread varieties in other posts, too!

They’re soft, pillowy, and almost impossible to resist!

2-24-14 089

Makes a dozen 5-6″ diameter doughnuts.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups flour
  • 3/4 cups vegan white sugar
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil (can sub in applesauce)
  • 3/4 tbsp apple cider vinegar (can sub white vinegar)
  • 3/4 tsp vanilla
  • 3/4 cup water

2-24-14 042

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease two 6-hole doughnut pans.

2. Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a bowl.

3. In another small bowl, stir together the oil, vinegar, vanilla, and water.

4. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients, and pour in the wet. Mix just until lumps are gone.

5. Pour batter into doughnut cups until about 2/3-3/4 full.

6. Bake at 350 for 8-12 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

2-24-14 0302-24-14 092

8 thoughts on “Recipe: Baked Vegan Vanilla Doughnuts

  1. If anybody is wondering about macro nutrients, this recipe has 279 calories, 10g fat, 67g carbs, and 3g protein per donut, assuming you make 6 donuts with the ingredients.

  2. I just made these, and I have saved the recipe as my go-to. They’re absolutely wonderful! I rounded up the water to 1 cup and found that batch to rise a bit more in the oven (especially after resting for the 12 minutes while the first set was in the oven, as I only have one pan). Thanks for making an egg- and dairy-free recipe so I can enjoy baked goods without tummy troubles!

    • Oh I’m so glad! I always love hearing how recipes turn out for people :)

      Water amounts tend to vary a lot depending on humidity and other factors–I’ll add that into the recipe!

  3. Pingback: Recipe: Baked Gingerbread Donuts [Vegan] | Churros 'n' Chai

  4. Pingback: Low-Fat Baked Vanilla Donuts (Vegan, Soy Free, Oil Free) | hippiefig

  5. Pingback: Low-Fat Baked Vanilla Donuts | hippiefig

Leave a Reply

